Category Archives: Renewable energy

Sequel to George Orwell’s novel Animal Farm

Animal Farm 2

Review for The Book Commentary

by Jane Riley June 1, 2021


In the tradition of George Orwell’s Animal Farm, Martin Knox has crafted a fable with strong political and social lessons about power and class struggle that are eminently evident in contemporary society. The novel introduces a farm located on a tropical island called Caruba. The farm is controlled by the Social Republic, a political entity that is embroiled in a cold war with the Democratic Union. On the farm, a revolution initiated by the Pigs has toppled the farmer. Now the Pigs exploit the animal farmers with cruelty and utter callousness. Everything changes when the farm animals discover coal on the farm and exploit it for their power supply. Their activity on the farm attracts the interests of the Caruba government, the Democratic Union, and the Social Republic. In the name of environmental protection, the animal project can be transformed into a tool in the hands of totalitarian leaders, but will the poor animal workers allow it to happen?

Intelligently plotted and brimming with humor, Animal Farm 2 compels readers to think about contemporary political and social realities. In this novel, readers will read about the kind of intrigue that is played out frequently in today’s political landscapes. The author writes conflict from a fresh and metaphorical perspective, allowing human drama and division to reflect on the reality of animals that labor on a farm. It is interesting to watch as the tension grows in magnitude, escalating to a moment when the animals have to determine whether climate change is a hoax and what happens when they are forced to rely on renewable energy. While Martin Knox writes about animals in this spellbinding story, he succeeds to infuse the narrative with realism, allowing qualities of humanity to reflect on the animals without failing to strengthen the anthropomorphism that elevates the quality of the narrative. The prose is dazzling, the characters nuanced, and the tale is one of the struggles for social justice set against a realistic backdrop of political intrigue and oppression. Animal Farm 2 is as thoughtful as it is hilarious, the very finesse of political satire. It will go down as a classic.

Available on Amazon. martinknox.com

ANIMAL LIBERATION POSSIBLE

The animals in the novel Animal Farm 2 by Martin Knox seek liberation from the totalitarian hell of George Orwell’s book Animal Farm (1945).  Are the animals right not to accept humans eating them and prevent animal births — even with the kindest treatment? Humans do sacrifice some of their number to military deaths in order to preserve their way of life. The pigs use abattoir deaths to control the other animals. 

Are foraging livestock useful for collecting food from the inaccessible bush and storing it on their bodies to be eaten in droughts when crops have failed? Is meat, after all a processed convenience food, unethical if you revere life of all species.

What would life be like without domestic livestock? If uneaten, animals would have to be fed and cared for on the little land remaining after expansion of agriculture. Animals would be helpless, without survival skills and with physiques disfigured by utilitarian breeding.

How many animals could be liberated? Beef-lot animals and piggery porkers could be among the first. Could dairy cows and sheep be kept because valued highly for their byproducts? Or should all animal products cease?

These questions are considered in Animal Farm 2, with meat eating reduced, the animals finding work in horticulture and coal mining — until they are affected by theories of climate change and fight to overthrow the pigs. This is an entertaining satire, revealing surprising animal ability at logic and science.

martinknox.com

ANIMAL FARM 2 IS AN UPDATE

In a sequel to Animal Farm published on Amazon, Martin Knox has continued Orwell’s satire with an update that includes the Cold War, global warming, animal liberation and continuing totalitarianism, up to modern times. Global warming is carefully explained within a shifted paradigm of climate science and a novel reinterpretation of superpower ambitions. The animals have studied science and their questioning uncovers flaws in the pigs’ reasoning.

martinknox.com

WHY REDUCE ENERGY USE

The reasons are these: warming of the environment; conservation of energy resources; personal economy; disregard of others; helping less advantaged people. 

1. Warming of the environment
There are several possible causes of environment warming. Anthropomorphic warming has human characteristics and is caused by or has effects on humans.  Causes of global warming cannot be attributed with certainty and are theoretical. There are many causes possible. Human causes could result from various emissions. Reduced carbon dioxide emission has been theorised to have an additional reduced warming benefit. A simpler theory is thermal emissions from human activity enter the atmosphere and oceans and warm them.
By reducing these activities, there could be less warming of the environment. Activities that could be reduced with this benefit are energy conversion, transportation, residential heating, air conditioning, combustion, fermentation, decomposition and respiration. 

2. Conservation of energy resources

Reducing use of energy resources of all kinds, fossil fuels, hydro and renewable energy could save them for use in the future, by others. Less withdrawal of solar energy by renewable energy technologies would reduce warming of the environment by their low temperature waste heat, with the Sun’s higher temperatures driving the ‘renewal’, by the 2nd Law of Thermodynamics.

3. Personal economy

Markets are supposed to rationalise supply and demand of energy in competition with others. Monopolies of suppliers and consumers can prevent appropriate responses to emerging depletion of resources and new technologies. Reduction in energy use could be encouraged by governments. Conversely, energy suppliers encourage consumption to maintain their sales. Individuals can be free to reduce their energy consumption, but their role could seem to them small and not worthwhile until leaders espouse this cause in the public interest.

4. Disregard of others

Energy use has not been limited, except by economic and environmental costs. Users have taken as much energy as they want, like oxygen from the air. People in some countries have helped themselves to much more energy than others. Energy ends up, eventually after use, polluting the environment and oceans for others, by the 1st Law of Thermodynamics. Thus some greedy energy users cause more environment warming and more depletion of energy resources, than others, without having entitlement to do so. 

5. Helping  less advantaged people

Energy consumption has universal value and is a broad indicator of quality of lifestyle differences between nations. Distribution has depended on historical circumstances. Developing countries could reasonably be allowed more growth in their low energy use than developed countries having high energy use. Such allowance could be voluntary, with high energy-using individuals sacrificing high-energy technologies and activities of marginal value to help those less advantaged. Otherwise sharing might have to be mandated. 

Please consider these 5 reasons and reduce your energy consumption.

My book Animal Farm 2 coming shortly addresses these energy issues https://martinknox.com

%d bloggers like this: