Blog Archives

Sequel to George Orwell’s novel Animal Farm

Animal Farm 2

Review for The Book Commentary

by Jane Riley June 1, 2021


In the tradition of George Orwell’s Animal Farm, Martin Knox has crafted a fable with strong political and social lessons about power and class struggle that are eminently evident in contemporary society. The novel introduces a farm located on a tropical island called Caruba. The farm is controlled by the Social Republic, a political entity that is embroiled in a cold war with the Democratic Union. On the farm, a revolution initiated by the Pigs has toppled the farmer. Now the Pigs exploit the animal farmers with cruelty and utter callousness. Everything changes when the farm animals discover coal on the farm and exploit it for their power supply. Their activity on the farm attracts the interests of the Caruba government, the Democratic Union, and the Social Republic. In the name of environmental protection, the animal project can be transformed into a tool in the hands of totalitarian leaders, but will the poor animal workers allow it to happen?

Intelligently plotted and brimming with humor, Animal Farm 2 compels readers to think about contemporary political and social realities. In this novel, readers will read about the kind of intrigue that is played out frequently in today’s political landscapes. The author writes conflict from a fresh and metaphorical perspective, allowing human drama and division to reflect on the reality of animals that labor on a farm. It is interesting to watch as the tension grows in magnitude, escalating to a moment when the animals have to determine whether climate change is a hoax and what happens when they are forced to rely on renewable energy. While Martin Knox writes about animals in this spellbinding story, he succeeds to infuse the narrative with realism, allowing qualities of humanity to reflect on the animals without failing to strengthen the anthropomorphism that elevates the quality of the narrative. The prose is dazzling, the characters nuanced, and the tale is one of the struggles for social justice set against a realistic backdrop of political intrigue and oppression. Animal Farm 2 is as thoughtful as it is hilarious, the very finesse of political satire. It will go down as a classic.

Available on Amazon. martinknox.com

Animal Farm 2 – satirical fiction

Martin Knox’s sixth book – an action-packed, comical, totalitarianism, animal liberation and climate change.

Farm animals investigate philosophies of climate science within a new paradigm.

Reviewed by Brad Ahern, Science Educator

Following Orwell’s masterful satire, Animal Farm, 1945, Martin Knox continues the story in the aftermath of the Animal Revolution up to modern times, with an insightful account of the progress and difficulties of the Socialist Animal Collective. An action-packed story of farm animals seeking liberation. They mine coal and their work is restricted by bourgeois management and superpower influence. They discover and carefully explain a paradigm shift within climate science. Another prescient and engrossing cautionary fable satirising the threats posed by modern-day totalitarianism and globalism. The satire is humorous with animal characters based on leaders of superpower nations, animal liberation and climate campaigns.

Reviewed By Divine Zape for Readers’ Favourite. Rating: 5 Stars 

Fans of Animal Farm by George Orwell will adore Martin Knox’s Animal Farm 2, a fable with strong hints of political satire set on a farm on tropical Caruba, an island in the grip of the Social Republic. It is set within a cold war between the Social Republic and the Democratic Union. After successfully leading an animal revolution, the pigs take over control of the farm and put the animal workers under unacceptable and harsh working conditions. When coal is discovered on the farm, it attracts the attention of the superpowers who are in it for their own interests. The animals find themselves embroiled in a war of climate change, where they have to decide to shut down the power station and the coal mine or use renewable energy. But the consequences will be dire for the animals including the loss of jobs. So, the only option they have is to fight for their freedom from totalitarianism. But can they win?

This is a cleverly plotted story with interesting characters, and readers will relate to the animals that behave like humans; the anthropomorphism is brilliantly executed. Readers will encounter animals such as pigs (Lords Napoleon, Natalia), cattle (Tosser, Earl, Henry, Arnold), sheep (Sharon, Trudy, Sophie, and others), goats, llamas, horses, donkeys, mules, and more. Animal Farm 2 is open to several interpretations with political manipulation, abuse of power, superpower interests, and those who bear the brunt of political manoeuvring. It is a fable, but it is the same story that we see being played out too often in the political world. The novel features relevant and deftly written political themes, a debate on climate change, and the effects of totalitarianism. The characters are elaborately written and readers can see in them a portrait of what politicians do. The satire is biting, ingenious, and written in a context that readers can relate to. Martin Knox’s satirical novel is a work of great imagination

Information: martinknox.com

TOTALITARIANISM SATIRE CONTINUES

See reviews. martinknox.com

BY RADICAL AUTHOR MARTIN KNOX

ANIMAL FARM 2 is an exciting sequel to George Orwell’s satire Animal Farm (1945). Pig control on Caruba island involves the farm animals in the Cold War and collapse of Soviet government. When the animals discover coal and mine it, they become embroiled in environmentalism and superpower climate politics. They seek liberation and learn science, contesting energy policies with a paradigm shift in climate science and an optimistic outcome.

TIME IS GOLD is a fiction novel in which Maxi, an Australian marathon runner, is determined to win Olympic Gold and break the world record. Her training is guided by her partner Jack, whose neuroscience research discovers that Einstein’s Special Relativity can plausibly enable her to stretch her time in ‘flow’. Will Maxi break the record with a new concept of performance time? This is nail-biting entertainment.

SHORT OF LOVE At Liverpool University in the Beatles era, Tom is an engineering student who falls for Vicki, a psychology student. When she tricks him, he puts her off for later with a satirical trick of his own: a commodity short. It backfires and they try to get back together but his work as CEO of a Canadian oil company causes friction. This is a biofiction page-turner.

PRESUMED DEAD is a crime fiction thriller when a heinous crime is committed in fictional Alexandra against Jane, an iconic sassy young woman politician, amid corrupt city hall partisan politics. The crime is reconstructed in a novel forensic process by her partner Phillip who closes in on the perpetrators with chilling precision.

THE GRASS IS ALWAYS BROWNER is an epic story speculating on Australia’s dystopian future, extrapolated from recent conditions of: population growth, migration control, religious conflict, industrial collapse, deurbanisation and rising sea levels with scientific objectivity.

Available on Amazon. Details and reviews on my blog martinknox.com

%d bloggers like this: